Our Towns

Our Towns Infographic
Click on the image to enlarge and for an accessible PDF version.


There are six incorporated towns in Northampton County: Exmore, Nassawadox, Eastville, Cheriton, Cape Charles, and a portion of Belle Haven. Towns have their own governing bodies and land-use planning and zoning controls. According to the United States Census Bureau, in 2016, the population of these towns ranged from a high of approximately 1,442 residents in Exmore to as low as 168 in Eastville. The Towns have always served as social and economic focal points for the County. They have long been designated by the County as development areas and zoning reflects that expectation. The Towns continue to be the most appropriate location for development in the County. All towns, with the exception of Cape Charles, have frontage on US Rt. 13.